August 8, 2009

  • No more crappy boots!

    I just ordered a new pair of boots online.  That always makes me nervous.  Manufacturers are so horrible at making shoe sizes all the same actual size.  I ordered the same size I wear now, but it’s a different brand, so here’s hoping.  I’m getting the Altama Exospeed.  It’s supposed to be really lightweight and breathable, and has good arch support.  Here’s hoping it lives up to my expectations. And is a bit more durable than my last pair – they lasted about 6 months.   I’m taking them with me anyway, just because I’m paranoid about getting my decent pair of boots wet or something.  Need something to be able to change into, even if they are crappy.

    Got my new, and incredibly cheap, mp3 player loaded and ready.  It doesn’t have a file system, which sucks, ’cause I’ll have to flip through a couple hundred songs to find the one I want, but I’ll deal.  It’s a 2GB Element (no clue who makes it – I think Sears).  It’s small, light, and I don’t give a damn if it gets damaged while deployed.  Perfect!

    I’m worried I’m going to have to buy a new laptop while in Iraq.  Arg.  My PC is getting *uber* slow, my web browsers aren’t functioning correctly, and XP keeps telling me I don’t have administrator authority, despite the fact that I only have one log-on for the system.  Yeah, not a good sign.  Going to try a clean-up and defrag and see if that helps any.  *sigh*  Here’s hoping… On the bright side, if my PC dies, it’s just an excuse to get a Mac even earlier!

    later

Comments (1)

  • Shopping for shoes, boots, sandals, etc. that fit always gives me anxiety. I hate shopping for them because they never fit right and returning them can be a pita!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *